IDPA this upcoming weekend (10/28/09). Questions from a beginner.

New shooter discussion, questions and information here
MaverickH1

IDPA this upcoming weekend (10/28/09). Questions from a beginner.

Post by MaverickH1 » Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:06 pm

I'm a college student at WVTech, and the upcoming IDPA contest was pointed out to me. I had a few questions regarding eligibility of myself and equipment.

I'll be shooting either an HK USP or P2000sk in 40 S&W. I've got the extra mags and such, but do not have a mag carrier. Another post in this forum said that the mag carrier wasn't really required... so a clarification that this is still the case would be appreciated. Can I stick the mags in my belt, or do they have to go into a pocket? How many rounds of ammo are needed?

Secondly, eligibility of myself. Not being a member of the club, am I allowed in? What fees are needed? That may be the crux of the whole thing for me. I have some 40 s&w 180 grain gold dots to trade for entry if needed :D

Hopefully weather will cooperate and I will be able to drive my motorcycle down. They expect 72 on Thursday... could be the start to a perfect weekend!

I need to get out and practice more, and this is a good way to do it.

ETA: The date is actually the 25th. My failure.

Bigfoot
Forum Administrator

Post by Bigfoot » Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:36 pm

While a mag carrier is ideal, I'm sure someone here can facilitate something for you. If what you have are the same size as XD/Beretta mags, I could. Mags in the pockets won't be an issue if nothing can be found.

You'll probably need somewhere in the neighborhood of 100 rounds for IDPA but if you have more, bring about 150.

Once through for IDPA is $10.

Looking forward to seeing you there!
:confused:

Gunworks

Post by Gunworks » Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:53 pm

Yes non-members are welcome at matches.

Either pistol is allowed as well.

PM sent as well.

Hairy78

Post by Hairy78 » Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:26 pm